Delegate Antonio Hayes – Maryland House of Delegates – 40th District

Delegate Antonio Hayes – Maryland House of Delegates – 40th District -

Delegate Antonio Hayes – Maryland House of Delegates 40th District

Delegate Antonio Hayes is the newest elected official to serve the 40th Legislative District in the Maryland House of Delegates. The 40th Legislative District includes a significant portion of downtown extending to neighboring communities in west and southwest Baltimore.

  • FullSizeR

In 2015 Delegate Hayes was sworn in as a member of the Maryland House of Delegates, representing the 40th Legislative District. Since being sworn into the Legislature he has been appointed to various committees. His appointments include the Health and Government Operations Committee, the Joint Committee on Children, Youth and Families and the Joint Committee on Public Safety and Policing Workgroup. Along with these appointments he serves on the Downtown Partnership of Baltimore Board of Directors and is the Vice Chair of Empowerment Academy Charter School Board.

In 2010, Antonio was appointed as Chief of Staff to the Baltimore City Department of Social Services (BCDSS). BCDSS provides services to Baltimore’s most vulnerable citizens — children who have been abused or neglected and low income families who need public assistance. Antonio joined a team that brought BCDSS national recognition for the modernization and effectiveness of social services. From 2010-Present, the agency continues to reduce the number of children in foster care 58% by ensuring children they placed were with permanent families.  Antonio took on the tremendous challenge of improving the business practices, promoting efficiency and creating a culture of accountability for the 2500 employees at BCDSS. His leadership skills combined with his deep commitment to service have made BCDSS one of the most well respected social service organizations in the country.

Underlining his commitment to public service Antonio has served as Assist Deputy Mayor of Baltimore overseeing its public safety agencies from 2006 -2010, Legislative Director City Council President 2002-2016, Political Director Maryland Democratic Party, and Legislative Aide Maryland House of Delegates.